“Anyone who does anything to help a child is a hero to me.” Mr. Rogers

Last week, when I went to see my daughter’s classroom where she will be teaching her first year, I wondered if I appreciated all the work my kids’ teachers did to get ready for a new school year. I didn’t realize how much work was involved to get the classroom looking so great.  Katie had been going to her classroom a lot before her first day of school, so her room looked pretty awesome by the time I came for a visit.

Here are some pictures of my favorite bulletin boards and posters that decorate Katie’s fourth grade classroom:

I wish I could have some of the above posters with me when I go out into the world.  For instance, “What you do and how you act makes a difference in our world” is a great reminder.  I also like the flamingo poster because sometimes people worry too much about fitting in when we should try to appreciate people and ourselves for who we are.  Katie put together the “BE…” sign and the Walking with Jesus poster.  My mom’s big, blue, wooden-beaded rosary hangs in a corner of the room next to a big statue and a little statue of the Blessed Virgin Mary.  Katie painted the rocker she found at Goodwill, and I got to make a new cover for the cushion!  That rocker sits in the reading corner where Katie will read lots of books to her students.  Those kids have a lot to look forward to this year as they learn things they never knew.

Here’s to all our teachers and your guidance.  Where would we be without you?

When I was very young, most of my childhood heroes wore capes, flew through the air, or picked up buildings with one arm. They were spectacular and got a lot of attention. But as I grew, my heroes changed, so that now I can honestly say that anyone who does anything to help a child is a hero to me. ~Fred Rogers
2 thoughts on ““Anyone who does anything to help a child is a hero to me.” Mr. Rogers

Leave a Reply

