Yellow Watering Can

Every time I water the plants in our house, I think back to the time when I first held the yellow watering can.  It was when I made my debut on the stage in first grade.  Our teacher handed out a sheet of paper with a nursery rhyme to memorize.  My rhyme was:

Mary, Mary, quite contrary,
How does your garden grow?
With silver bells, and cockle shells,
And pretty maids all in a row.

I did a good job on the stage!  I said my lines perfectly, and I don’t remember being nervous.  After I said my rhyme, I went to join my other classmates to stand towards the back of the stage.  We all watched and listened to others recite their rhymes one at a time.   It was fun to wear a dress made just for me.  I had to stand still while I listened, even though I wanted to twirl my dress around.

Mom had the bigger job of sewing my dress together and purchasing other accessories to make a complete costume.  Sewing the dress was quite an undertaking considering my debut only lasted a couple of seconds.  Even I knew in my young age that Mom did a great job of creating my outfit which made me feel proud.  I felt like I had the best costume in my class.

Dad was proud too.  There aren’t many color photos during this time in our family album. The photos above were sprinkled amongst many black and white ones.  Even though the photo is quite faded, I remember that the fabric was very vibrant.

I don’t know whatever happened to my dress, but the watering can is one thing I was sure to take when we cleaned out the house where I grew up after Mom passed away.  Mom used that watering can for years, and now I’ll use it as long as I can.  I’ve been through lots of watering cans in my life, but the yellow watering can doesn’t even show any signs of aging.

Is there something you hold onto that brings back a fond memory?

It’s surprising how much memory is built around things
unnoticed at the time. ~Barbara Kingsolver, Animal Dreams

5 thoughts on “Yellow Watering Can

  1. Such a pretty dress! I wish I had a dollar for each time I was teased with the first line of that song. 🙂 One thing I’ve held on to is an old hand pump that my grandmother had on her farm. My dad had it and when he passed away, I took it. Right now it’s in my backyard. Great share, Mary Ann.

Leave a Reply

