The Tradition of the Raspberry Connection


Photo Courtesy of JudyKim23 

“Last night I had a dream,” my Mother said to me some years ago when my children were small.  “I dreamt that I was holding all the kids’ hands and while we were dancing around in a circle we were singing ‘Raspberries, raspberries, yum, yum, yum.’  It was like we were playing the childhood game of Ring around the Rosy.”


Photo Courtesy of Janet13pics 

We laughed together as I envisioned the scene she planted in my mind. 

Right around the time Mom became a Grandma was the time she decided to plant raspberry bushes.  After becoming a Grandma two more times, was about the time that those raspberry plants turned into a raspberry patch.  When our family visited Grandma and Grandpa during raspberry picking time, we were treated to bowls of vanilla ice cream with raspberries on top.  After that treat, Grandma would be sure to give us at least a gallon of raspberries to take home.  When that raspberry patch started growing in places where it shouldn’t, not only did we receive massive quantities of raspberries, we also received our very own raspberry bushes to plant. 

Mom has always been a master gardener and is always experimenting by planting new things.  I found out how to tell the difference between flowers and weeds as a little girl when I followed my Mother around her impressive flower garden either while she was gardening or giving tours to neighbors or family members who were visiting us.


Lilies of the Valley
 
Iris
 
Peonies

Lilies of the valley grew on the side of our house and would bloom for a very short time only to leave behind a bunch of green foliage.  Fragrant pink and white peonies lined one side of our yard.  Mom even grew roses and a bleeding heart back then.  Johnny jump ups, snap dragons, and chicks in the nest surrounded the rest of our yard. 

Now that I am very grown up, every time that I visit  Mom’s house in the summer, I get my very own guided tour of her beautiful garden.  New to the garden are colored leaves in pots, foxgloves, lilies, hydrangea, and poppies, just to name a few.  The daffodils, tulips, irises, creeping phlox and some of the peonies are still in the yard like they used to be when I was a little girl.  Here and there Mom has planted carrots, peppers and onions which are interspersed amongst the flowers where before, we had a separate vegetable garden where corn, beets and green beans, and lots of other vegetables grew. 

Mom divided up and gave the original raspberry patch to us and to her neighbors, and now some ordinary bushes grow where the raspberry patch used to be.  Our own raspberry patch has grown so large that we are the ones who pick gallons of raspberries during raspberry picking time.  We have followed Mom’s tradition of giving raspberry plants to our friends.  As is the tradition of gardeners everywhere, we know that when the raspberry patches that our friends now have grow larger, those will be shared with their friends, relatives or neighbors.

Mom, thanks for giving us the tradition of the raspberry connection!  “Raspberries, raspberries, yum, yum, yum!”

4 thoughts on “The Tradition of the Raspberry Connection

  1. Funny I should read this post tonight. I saw yellow raspberries today in a local fruit market and I was intrigued. Not so intrigued to pay $10AU for a punnet but intrigued all the same. 😉

    My Grandfather had a green thumb too. I loved his mini raspberry patch and trying to grab them before the birds do. It’s from his legacy that my favourite fruit is the raspberry and because he grew Freesias and Snapdragons I love those flowers with a loyalty that can never be shaken.

    Thanks for igniting my own memories of my “Papa’s” garden. 🙂

    Love these weekend linkups. I’m finding some great reads tonight.

  2. What a great story and a lovely (and delicious) tradition! It is nice that you have the original bushes – roots and fruit from the beginning. Who knows, maybe I am starting my own berry tradition with the planting of my three little blueberry bushes.

Leave a Reply

